About CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualification

From 1964 until the present, CONCACAF have staged Men’s Olympic qualifiers for only the teams within its region with Mexico progressing to four of the next seven Men’s Football Tournaments at the Olympic Games (Rome 1964, Mexico City 1968, Munich 1972, Montreal 1976). Guatemala (1968, 1976, Seoul 1988) and USA (1972, Los Angeles 1984, 1988) followed with three appearances each, while Canada (1976, 1984), Costa Rica (Moscow 1980, 1984) and Cuba (1976, 1980) all competed in two Olympic Games during that era.

Since 1992, the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament has been an under-23 competition with the USA winning the inaugural event that year. Along with the USA, second-place finisher, Mexico also qualified to the Olympic Games in Barcelona, Spain.

Four years later, the Final Round of the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualification would take place in a single venue. Mexico claimed the top spot over the home-side Canada in the 1996 tournament held in Edmonton, Alberta. Mexico along with the host USA were the CONCACAF qualifiers to the Olympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia.

In 2000, the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualification Final Round was held in Hershey, Pennsylvania (USA) and the event crowned Honduras the tournament winners over the hosts with both teams claiming the Confederation berths to Sydney, Australia.

Mexico then staged the CONCACAF Tournament in Guadalajara, Jalisco in 2004, where the home team claimed the title and along with second-place finisher Costa Rica progressed to the Olympic Games in Athens, Greece.

In 2008, the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualification Final Round returns to the USA with the tournament once again qualifying two nations to the Olympic Games in Beijing, China. The CONCACAF Final Round group matches will be held in: Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida (Group A); The Home Depot Center in Carson, California (Group); and the semifinals and finals of the CONCACAF tournament to take place at LP Field in Nashville, Tennessee.